Skip to content

Best Week of training yet!

February 11, 2012

Fort Funston pit stop en route to Burlingame

I can’t even begin to tell you how much I enjoyed this week. I am totally falling in love with cycling. Monday started out with a 5am ride across the Golden Gate to Sausalito. It was such a clear and beautiful day, and I got back just in time to see the sunrise from my new dorm room.

Tuesday I went out on the Great Highway with my friend Charlotte. This is the first ride I have done with a pal since I have been here, and I have to say, it changes things a lot. It was definitely a nice change, and beyond enjoying her great company, she has been exceptionally helpful in offering tips. It has been really challenging to get into all of this alone, but people like Charlotte make it possible! Thanks so much girl!

Wednesday was INSANE. All I have to say is that I am crazy! I went for what was supposed to be a short ride along the Great Highway, but ended up riding all the way to Burlingame. The ride there was pretty much all uphill and I have no idea what got me to keep going. I also got dumped in highway 280 for a few miles, and it was absolutely terrifying. I guess it was an experience though! Anyways, I made it safely to my grandma’s house and was greeted by loving arms and delicious snack, despite how sweaty, smelly and gross I was! The ride back was pretty brutal, as the sun had already set, and needless to say, I was exhausted! Luckily, I got to reap the benefit of my uphill battle with a mostly downhill ride home. This was my first ride over 50 miles though, and I am pretty excited about it!

Thursday, I again set out south on the great highway, and put in about 20 miles between classes.

In a nut shell, this week was an excellent model of what I hope to be doing for the next couple of months. I also am really excited about the making it all the way to Burlingame. I am starting to feel like the Bay Area is much smaller than I thought before! I thought it was great getting my license on my 16th birthday and driving around in my car, or going on my solo road trip to Arizona, but I have to say that I have never felt so accomplished as I did when I got all the way back to school. Bikes are pretty incredible!

From → Blog

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

